Welcome to Mike Markel's fiction site

Mike Markel is a writer who lives in Boise, Idaho.

He is the author of three novels in the Detectives Seagate and Miner Mystery series: Big Sick Heart, Deviations, and The Broken Saint.

He is now preparing the fourth book in the series, Three-Ways.

Please look around--and get in touch. He would love to hear from you.

What readers are saying about Deviations and Big Sick Heart

"If you enjoy detective novels, add Deviations to your reading list. Detectives Seagate and Miner are not to be missed." - Shewhirler

"Mike Markel knows how to write dialogue! The chatter in Seagate's head is at once tragic and hilarious. Yes, this woman is a mess, but for some reason I liked her from the beginning." - Marty H.

"This latest Seagate mystery by Mike Markel was gritty and, in places, gruesome, and yet I read the whole thing in one sitting." - M. K. Brown

" . . . puts you on the edge of your seat and keeps you there." - William B. Hillman

"So . . . this Markel guy. He's not just good, he's really superior." - Prophet

"I can't wait to see more of this author and this series. Great one!" - Georges Huberty

" . . . great characters and c'mon-just-one-more-page allure." - Ciler Retnuh

New: Pam Brewer in The Idaho Statesman calls The Broken Saint "a great addition" to the Detectives Seagate and Miner Mystery series.

New: Read Mike's answer to the question, "What does a reader owe a writer?"

New: Read Mike's essay about just how great his book Deviations is.

New: Read the story of Mike's triumphant turn on LibraryThing.


Visit him on

and follow him on Twitter   

eNovel Authors at Work